The 7 Chakra System

There are seven major chakras in the body, according to Eastern spiritual teachings. These are energy centers and are hence invisible to the eye or to medical examination. However, each chakra is associated with a different part of the physical body, from the base of the torso to the top of the head.

The lowest chakra is called Muladhara and is found at the base of the spine. Its color is red and the core issue around this chakra is Survival and Self-Preservation. Its element is Earth and hence it tends to be associated with the physical body and with physicality in general. Its positive associations are to do with physical health, prosperity, stability and being grounded. A first chakra imbalance tends to be associated with heaviness, solidity, obesity, materialism. A deficiency of energy in this chakra would manifest as fear, lack of discipline and possibly also being physically underweight.

7 chakras
The 7 Chakras

The second chakra is called Svadisthana and this is located in the genital area. Its color is orange and it is related to Sexuality, Emotions and SelfGratification. Its element is Water and hence it is associated with fluidity, and healthy expression of sexuality and emotions. Its negative associations are sex addictions and obsessions, poor boundaries and excessive emotionality. A deficiency of energy in this chakra manifests as frigidity, impotence and possibly also fear of pleasure.

The third chakra is called Manipura and it is located in the solar plexus. Its color is yellow and it is related to Power, Will and SelfDefinition. Its element is Fire and it is associated with Purpose, Empowerment, Selfesteem, Vitality and WillPower. A negative third chakra manifests as being dominating, blaming, scattered, overactive and possibly even aggressive. If there is s deficiency of energy in the solar plexus chakra, it tends to manifest in being weak-willed, having low self-esteem and poor self-image, being too passive and fearful. Overall, this energy center has to do with your ego identity.

The fourth chakra is called Anahata and is located in your heart area. Its color is green and it is associated with Love, Relationships, Compassion and Harmony.  Its element is Air and it is all about learning Self-Acceptance, good relationships, and to love and be loved. An excess of fourth chakra energy manifests in poor boundaries, and being possessive or jealous. A lack of energy in this energy center manifests as shyness, isolation, loneliness, being bitter or critical. Overall, this chakra has to do with your social identity.

The fifth chakra is called Visuddha and is located in your throat area. Its color is blue and it is  associated with Communication and Creativity. Its element is Sound and it is associated with Speaking, Communication and SelfExpression. An excess in this area leads to excessive talking, an inability to listen and perhaps even stuttering. If this energy center is deficient in energy, it leads to fear of speaking, lack of creativity and poor communication in general. This chakra is all about Self-expression.

The sixth chakra is called Ajna and is located in the brow area. Its color is violet and it is associated with Intuition and Imagination. Its element is Light and it is associated with Psychic Power, Visualization, Imagination. An excess of energy in this zone gives rise to headaches, nightmares, delusions and hallucinations. If this area is deficient in energy, it leads to poor vision, lack of memory and lack of intuition or imagination. When related to the person, this center is all about Self-Reflection (which is why so many meditation systems focus on the brow area).

The seventh and final chakra is called Sahasrara and it is located at the very top of the head. Its color is white and it is associated with Wisdom, Knowledge, Super-Consciousness. Its element is Thought and it is related to Self-Knowledge, Awareness and Spiritual Connection. If there is too much energy in this area, it tends toward being overly intellectual, addicted to spirituality and even confusion. If this area is lacking in energy, it gives rise to learning difficulties, skepticism, materialism and apathy.

This is a summary of the basic characteristics of the 7 chakras. There are many ways to work with them to balance their energies or to enhance those that are deficient. For example, you can do so through physical movement such as yoga asanas or dance. Alternatively, you can engage in chakra meditations in which you focus on each chakra in turn and perform specific meditations to balance the energy between them and to unblock any that are blocked. In chakra healing, such unblocking can even lead to radical physical and mental health changes.

From just the list above, you can see if you are indeed showing an excessive of deficiency or energy in any of these areas. After awareness of the issue, you then work with the specific chakra affected through physical activities or meditation until the energy in this area is properly balanced.

Copyright 2011 Asoka Selvarajah . All Rights Reserved.

If you liked this article, you can get many more like it plus three free ebooks (Value $29.97)

Useful References:

About Asoka Selvarajah

Dr. Asoka Selvarajah is a writer and teacher of personal growth and spirituality, and the author of numerous books and courses. His work helps people achieve their full potential, deepen their understanding of mystical truth, and discover their soul’s purpose.Subscribe to the Aspire To Wisdom list to receive more articles and resources to your inbox.

Check Also

Trauma & Tragedy – A Path To Transcendence

Trauma is something that every human being will at one time or another have to …

Ngöndro – Vajrayana Buddhism Preliminary Practice

Within Vajrayana Buddhism, considered to be an accelerated path to Enlightenment, the Ngöndro preliminary practices …

Chakras – A Brief Overview of Chakras System in Hindu & Buddhist Texts

Chakra is a part of esoteric medieval era theories about physiology and psychic centers that …

Making a Difference in an Indifferent World

by Robert Elias Najemy. We live in troubled times where our peace and safety are …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!